Click the button below, select a course location from the map, view the schedule and register. Tuition is $169.
eRider™ Intermediate is a half-day course for riders who already know how to get underway, turn, shift and stop a motorcycle. The course builds fundamental street-riding skills and strategies.
The online classroom, done at home on a computer, takes four to six hours to complete. Four hours of range (on-cycle) instruction are provided. Training motorcycles 125-250 cc and DOT helmets are provided, or students may use their own. For riders familiar with motorcycle controls and comfortable using a computer, this is the recommended course. Courses with traditional classroom are also available.
The online classroom is highly interactive, using video and other features to address risk management, riding gear, riding strategy, roadway management, impairments and special riding situations like carrying passengers and group riding. Range (on-cycle) instruction includes low-speed balance and control, emergency braking, countersteering, cornering and swerving. Participants complete online Chapters 1 and 2 (riding gear and motorcycle controls) before the first riding session. Students who have not completed Chapters 1 and 2 may be dismissed from class.
Get your motorcycle license! This course meets Oregon’s mandatory training requirements for riders age 21 or older. Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives the state on-cycle skill test for riders who successfully complete the course.
eRider™ Intermediate is offered at at locations in Portland, Salem, Albany, Eugene, Bend and Medford. To view course dates, times and to register, click a location on the map below.
If you are unable to find a course that fits your schedule, view nearby sites for more options. And keep checking back: When classes fill, additional classes may be scheduled to meet student demand.
Registration is completed on a secure website. Payment is required when you register. Visa, MasterCard, Discover and personal checks are accepted. If you pay by check, your seat will not be reserved until payment is received.
When you register, you will be sent an e-mail confirmation and link to the online classroom from "email@example.com." Read this confirmation carefully. It will have the course schedule and start times, what to bring, map to the site, etc. If you do not receive a confirmation, check your junk e-mail folder.
Taking an approved course is the first step toward earning a motorcycle endorsement. Before applying for an endorsement at DMV, make sure you understand the Oregon DMV licensing process.
OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS Washington accepts TEAM OREGON BRT for a motorcycle endorsement, but not IRT or eRider™ courses. Contact the licensing agency in your home state to verify which courses are accepted before signing up for a TEAM OREGON course.
Completion cards are awarded to graduates of eRider™ Intermediate. To receive a completion card, you must complete all classroom activities (Chapters 1-6) and on-cycle riding sessions, pass the online quizzes and pass an on-cycle skill test. Students have up to 60 days after the riding sessions begin to complete the online classroom.
DMV waives the on-cycle skill test for graduates who possess a valid completion card, but riders must pass the DMV knowledge test to complete the licensing process. You can study for the DMV test here. Riders who successfully complete the course are eligible for insurance discounts under Oregon law. For additional information, see Eligibility Requirements and What to Bring.
Most participants complete the course successfully. However, there is no guarantee of course completion or graduation. Students who fail to demonstrate a minimum level of safety will be dismissed without refund.
eRider™ System Requirements
eRider™ students must use a computer that meets basic system requirements. The online classroom requires a modern desktop, laptop or tablet computer; a current operating system and Web browser; high-speed Internet; and headphones, earphones or speakers. Smart phones do not provide adequate screen resolution.
Remember: You are paying for a reserved seat in a course. Registrations are limited. If you need to reschedule your course or cancel, you must do so at least three days before the course begins to be eligible for a refund. Students who arrive late or leave early lose their reservation and payment.