Motorcycle Rider Training and Skill Development
 

Motorcycle Endorsement


To ride legally in Oregon, you must have a valid driver license and motorcycle endorsement or instruction permit. The penalty for riding without a motorcycle endorsement can be as much as $2,000 plus court costs. How do riders earn a motorcycle endorsement in Oregon?

If You Are under 21 Years Old

Oregon law requires you to successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) course before you apply for a motorcycle endorsement. Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your license.

If You Are 21-60 Years Old

Oregon law requires you to successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) or Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) course before you apply for a motorcycle endorsement. If you take BRT, Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your license. If you take IRT, DMV waives the on-cycle skills test, but you will still be required to take the state knowledge test.

If You Are 61 or Older

You are not required to take a training course. However, if you successfully complete a TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training (BRT) course, Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV) waives both the state knowledge and on-cycle skills tests to earn your motorcycle endorsement. Course graduates are also eligible for insurance discounts.

Applicants 61 or older also have the option of successfully completing the TEAM OREGON Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) course. DMV may waive the on-cycle skills test, but you will still be required to take the state knowledge test to earn your license.

DMV Information

Course graduates must apply for a motorcycle endorsement at DMV to complete the licensing process. DMV recommends you fill out a driver’s license application form in advance. Be prepared to show your course completion card, proper ID and proof of legal presence, take a vision screening test and pay the fee(s) for the endorsement.

Refer to the DMV website for details about the application process, motorcycle endorsement fees and registering a motorcycle.

 

Who is required to take a motorcycle course?

In 2009 the Legislature passed a law requiring completion of an approved training course, phased in over five years:

  January 1, 2011        All New Riders 30 and Under    
  January 1, 2012   All New Riders 40 and Under
  January 1, 2013   All New Riders 50 and Under
  January 1, 2014   All New Riders 60 and Under
  January 1, 2015   All New Riders of Any Age


Currently, all applicants for a first-time motorcycle endorsement (new riders) who are 60 and under are required to take a course. Riders who already have a motorcycle endorsement, including those from other states, are not required to take a course – although it is encouraged.

3W Requirements

Riders of three-wheeled motorcycles are required to have a motorcycle endorsement. However, you may apply for a restricted (3W-only) motorcycle endorsement at DMV. Applicants must pass the DMV knowledge and riding tests to qualify, but are not required to complete a rider training course. 

Learn More About Rider Training:


Basic Rider Training (BRT) $199.00
Intermediate Rider Training
(IRT) $169.00
Rider Skills Practice
(RSP) $99.00
Advanced Rider Training (ART) $150